Place holder in expression

Apr 8, 2010 at 5:40 AM
Edited Apr 8, 2010 at 5:41 AM

Hi,

I am new to Irony. But I have to give some quick result.

I have expression which can contaion:

1. Number: I am getting.

2. indetifier: I am getting.

3. Function: I am getting.

4. Place holder: If in expression X | Y | Z | A appear in any case. Then grammar should identify it as place holder not as identifier.

Regards,

Ashish Kundan

Coordinator
Apr 8, 2010 at 4:38 PM

Hi,

Don't quite understand what is place holder - just another terminal, some special thing?

You can declare it as non-terminal with a rule:

var placeHolder = new NonTerminal("PlaceHolder"); 

placeHolder.Rule = ToTerm("X") | "Y" | "Z" | "A";

Additionally you'll have to set priority of X,Y,Z,A to be higher than that of Identifier or function, like this:

ToTerm("X").Priority = 100;

ToTerm("Y").Priority = 100;

and so on...

Alternatively you can lower priority of Identifier and Function

Apr 9, 2010 at 3:42 AM

Hi,

Thanks a lot for youe reply.

Your understanding is correct. Solution that you provided is working. I was missing priority in my code.

Placeholder is just like an indicator. X mean someting, Y means something and  so on.

I defined node for place holder like:

public class PlaceHolderNode : AstNode {
      public string Name;
      public AstNode Argument;
      public override void Init(Irony.Parsing.ParsingContext context, Irony.Parsing.ParseTreeNode treeNode)
      {
          base.Init(context, treeNode);
          Name = treeNode.ChildNodes[0].FindTokenAndGetText();
          AsString = Name;
      }  
  }//class

It is accepting all. But I want this node to consider only x,y,z,a in upper and lower case.

Is there any help document available for Irony apart from source code.

Regards,

Ashish Kundan

Coordinator
Apr 9, 2010 at 6:16 PM

Just add lower-case strings to expression for placeHolder.Rule

Roman

Apr 10, 2010 at 2:44 AM

Thanks Roman.