SQL Language Definition.

Jun 16, 2008 at 12:55 PM
Hey all,

And let me first say what a fantastic project this is.  I have been writing a custom parser for the last 2 months which in 2 hours i have managed to scrap in favour of Irony :)

I was just wondering what has happened to the SQL Language definition, i see it was removed in the latest code available on the Source Code Tab.

Is there any links any is aware of that implements the SQL Language in Irony as i really think this is one of the best components \ API's available for the .net framework.

Cheers everyone :)

Jun 16, 2008 at 4:29 PM

thanks for praising Irony!

SQL grammar - this was an unfinished effort by one of the contributors, it was not planned to be included in samples until it's done, it just slipped through, so I removed it from file set in latest submission. So SQL grammar is still unfinished - wanna take over it? - you're welcome to do it; I can promise all help and support I can.

thanks again

Jun 16, 2008 at 4:35 PM

Hello Roman,

I have already started work on implementing the SQL language in Irony.

I am still trying to get my head around many of the constructs and the way Irony works, its been years since i did absolutely anything to do with parsers \ linkers \ compilers.

Its late afternoon here now , so i am going to make some dinner for the family and will probably post back tomorrow with any updates or questions i have.

Cheers :)

Aug 12, 2008 at 12:52 PM
Any update? I'm looking to do the same thing - parse SQL for auto-completion use.
Nov 3, 2008 at 8:33 PM
If you want a good example of a SQL grammar for an LALR, go to Gold Parser's web site and get it. (http://www.devincook.com/goldparser/grammars/index.htm)