visitor questions.

Sep 9, 2008 at 10:17 PM
I'm new to this field and have already started building terminals(class), non terminals(class), scanner(class), and parser(class) manually based on traditional model.  The traditional approach is nice since these are all classes + different types i can use a reflective visitor to make different representations of the ast.

Example I could support:
industry format -> AST -> visitor to "my format"
MANUALLY create AST -> visitor to recreate industry format

the AST acts as the medium that allows the conversion to any format using visitors.

Therefore if i needed to i should be able to create the AST without irony or parser.
Would i be able to accomplish this goal (AST as the medium) with Irony?

Since i will be using NonTerminal, Terminal classes in Irony will that mean that my visitor will need to contain logic to differentiate between terminals?
no method overloading since everything is NonTerminal, Terminal?  or is it encouraged to inherit from these classes?

thanks

leblanc meneses
Coordinator
Sep 10, 2008 at 4:46 AM
Edited Sep 10, 2008 at 4:48 AM

Hi

Not quite sure what you mean by traditional model, but basically things in Irony are done quite similar to what happens in other parser tools. I think you confuse grammar terms (terminals and nonterminals) with elements of output AST tree - nodes - objects of type AstNode or derived classes. Terminals and NonTerminals are defined in grammar, and stay there. Parser produces AstNodes (or derived class instance) for each reduce operation corresponding to a production of nonterminal's rule. The exact type of AST node can be specified in NonTerminal's NodeType property. There are some basic AstNode classes already defined in Irony, but you can define more of your own. And then create "reflective" visitor as you call it.