Creating AstNode derived classes

Jun 26, 2012 at 6:28 PM

Hi - I'm new to Irony and was trying to build a simple 4-function calculator grammar to see how things work. Defining the grammar and parsing a test string as input seems easy enough, but I'm a bit lost when trying to add code for processing the nodes in the parse tree. Some posts say that I should define a class derived from AstNode for each type of node in the grammar, but the AstNode class doesn't seem to exist in the latest version of Irony.dll. Is there a new way of doing this? Are there any simple example projects that show how this is done?

Many thanks.

Coordinator
Jun 26, 2012 at 6:52 PM

man... ExpressionEvaluator in samples - did you see it?

Jun 26, 2012 at 7:17 PM

Yes I looked at the ExpressionEvaluator, but looking at it again, I've discovered another DLL, Irony.Interpreter.dll, that I hadn't found earlier, and it seems to have AstNode in it, so will give it another try. Thanks for your reply.

Jun 26, 2012 at 8:21 PM

Sorry, but I'm still unable to get it to work. I've defined the grammar as follows:

public class TestGrammar : Grammar
  {
    public TestGrammar() : base(false)  // Set CaseSensitive to false in base class
    {
      var number = new NumberLiteral("number");
      var BinOp = new NonTerminal("BinOp");
      var Statement = new NonTerminal("Statement");

Statement.Rule = number + BinOp + number;
      BinOp.Rule = ToTerm("+") | "-";
      Root = Statement;
      LanguageFlags = LanguageFlags.NewLineBeforeEOF | LanguageFlags.CreateAst;
    }
  }

I use the grammar in Main as follows:
  class Program
  {
    static void Main(string[] args)
    {
      TestGrammar grammar = new TestGrammar();
      LanguageData language = new LanguageData(grammar);
      LanguageRuntime runtime = new LanguageRuntime(language);
      Parser parser = new Parser(language);
      ParseTree parseTree = parser.Parse("3+4");
      ParseTreeNode root = parseTree.Root;
      dispTree(root, 0);
    }