Fixed formating grammar syntax -

Aug 5, 2012 at 3:48 PM
Edited Aug 5, 2012 at 11:10 PM

I am very new to Irony.  Just downloaded it last night and spent about 6 hours figuring out the basics of how it works.  It is very cool, as I have struggled the past few years to work with BNF in C# and have had to come up with lame XML grammar definitions that I really do not like.  It looks like Irony might solve a number of issues that I am having, and have had for many years.  I ran into Irony while trying to build the requirements to add my scanner and parser to a .Net language packaged, and I see that Irony already supports this.  Very nice. 

Can Irony handle fixed position grammars?  Maybe something like...

somevar          CS  "this is a string constant"

How can I specifically code for the "C" in a given position, say character position 25 that defines the variable as a constant?  My sample is not spaced correctly, but I think you can get the idea.  The "C" is optional and might not be there at all.  The "S" would be position 26 and might tell the compiler this is a string.  This is a common syntax style for fixed-format languages from the 1970's and 80's.

Here's a VERY simple grammar that I came up with as a test to see if I can setup the BNF for fixed character positions.  I had to put a space between the "C" and "S" to get the sample grammar below to work.  But that will not work in the long run.  I am not sure exactly why, but I do get a syntax error using the sample line above.  I think I am misunderstanding some of the Irony terminal and non-terminal constructs and have something setup wrong here.