Priority between Identifiers and Keywords

Nov 2, 2014 at 12:27 PM

I am new to Irony, and I am impressed how easy it is to create a parser with it.

I created a parser for WIQL (Query Language for Microsoft TFS), this worked pretty good.

The reason for this is i want to extend the WIQL with e.g. taking the columns from another query.

For this I need some "special" Syntax which fits to the WIQL-Language, otherwise I cannot store my changes in TFS.

And now to the problem: I want to add my reference to the columns of another query like this:
SELECT ... FROM Workitems WHERE <normal where clause> AND [system.title] <> '%COLUMNSET%QueryPath%COLUMNSET%

And i want to assign this clause a special non-terminal.

My problem is that [system.title] <> '%COLUMNSET% is not regocnized, because [system.title] is taken as a fieldName.

The following grammer works perfectly:
      var selectStmt = new NonTerminal("selectStmt");
      this.Root = selectStmt;
      var refColumnSet = new NonTerminal("refColumnSet");
      refColumnSet.Rule = ToTerm("[system.title] <> '%COLUMNSET%");
      selectStmt.Rule = ToTerm("SELECT") + refColumnSet;
meaning, the refColumnSet is recognized.

But if a add the fieldname-definition like this:
  var selectStmt = new NonTerminal("selectStmt");
  this.Root = selectStmt;

var fieldName = TerminalFactory.CreateSqlExtIdentifier(this, "fieldName"); //covers normal identifiers (abc) and quoted id's ([abc d], "abc d")

var refColumnSet = new NonTerminal("refColumnSet");

refColumnSet.Rule = ToTerm("[system.title] <> '%COLUMNSET%");
  fieldName.Priority = TerminalPriority.Low;

selectStmt.Rule = ToTerm("SELECT") + fieldName | ToTerm("SELECT") + refColumnSet;

I only get the error "invalid character: '<', because before [system.title] is referenced as a fieldName. Decreasing the priority of fieldName does not help.

Any ideas how to solve this?

Nov 5, 2014 at 3:46 AM
I don't understand at all.. Using

ToTerm("[system.title] <> '%COLUMNSET%")