Use Irony on Mono to create PHP parser?

Jul 26, 2009 at 9:08 AM

Hello!

I'm interrested to know if Irony can be used (on Mono) to create a parser for a non .NET language like PHP. What I want is to get code helping me to create features like code completion for PHP in MonoDevelop.

I'm new to lexers/parsers.

-Martin

Coordinator
Jul 26, 2009 at 5:18 PM

Well, you asked two questions - Irony on Mono, and is it possible to encode a grammar for language like PHP. As for the latter, the answer is definitely yes, I don't see why you can't implement PHP grammar in Irony; you can try it even without Mono

As for Mono, I would like to know it myself. Definitely it is possible to port Irony to Mono, the question is just how many changes will be needed. I suspect that Runtime classes cannot be ported yet, they use lambda expressions which come in .NET 3.5, and Mono is not there yet, as far as I know. As for the rest, it should be portable without big problems. Try it and let everybody know the results, maybe share some code. On my side, I'll try to provide all help I can

Roman

Jul 27, 2009 at 12:00 PM

They claim: "Develop in C# 3.0 (including LINQ)," and afaik that requires lambda expressions(?)

Jul 27, 2009 at 3:19 PM

Mono has supported lambda expressions for quite some time now.

Jul 30, 2009 at 9:58 PM

I can run the grammar explorer on mono but when I choose a grammar in the dropdown combobox I get an exception:

System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
  at Irony.GrammarExplorer.fmGrammarExplorer.CreateGrammar () [0x00011] in /home/marlun/tmp/irony-28496/Irony.GrammarExplorer/fmGrammarExplorer.cs:251
  at Irony.GrammarExplorer.fmGrammarExplorer.cboGrammars_SelectedIndexChanged (System.Object sender, System.EventArgs e) [0x00013] in /home/marlun/tmp/irony-28496/Irony.GrammarExplorer/fmGrammarExplorer.cs:451