Non greedy FreeTextLiteral

Dec 21, 2016 at 7:37 AM
I'm new to Irony (and parsing/grammars in general) so please bear with me.

I'm trying to parse strings of the form:
asdf asdf asdf key = fdsa
I'm trying to break this up into "asdf asdf asdf" and "key = fdsa". Basically this is supposed to be composed of 2 types of elements, freetext and then an identifier=freetext

the identifiers are keywords that would match a IdentifierTerminal("identifier", IdOptions.None).

Is there a way to parse this? I got showstopped pretty quickly with a freeText string being greedy and grabbing everything. I guess in an ideal world I could specify a terminator rule of the form (identifier + "=") but I suspect this is not possible. I suspect most likely what I'm trying to do is not possible for reasons/concepts I don't fully understand (ambiguous grammar? lookahead?)

My rather amateurish attempt:
            var identifier = new IdentifierTerminal("identifier", IdOptions.None);
            var freeText = new FreeTextLiteral("freeText", FreeTextOptions.AllowEof);
            freeText.Terminators.Add("=");

NonTerminal args = new NonTerminal("args");
            NonTerminal arg = new NonTerminal("arg");

arg.Rule = (identifier + "=" + freeText) | freeText;
            args.Rule = MakeStarRule(args, arg);
            this.Root = args;
Coordinator
Dec 25, 2016 at 8:45 AM
I don't think it's possible to break your sample expr into (freetext + (key = fdsa)) - this is just LALR parser limitations
you will have to parse it as:
(wordList + "=" + word)
wordList.Rule = MakeStartRule(workdList, word)

all terms before = are parsed as one combined list
Dec 28, 2016 at 10:32 AM
Edited Dec 28, 2016 at 10:33 AM
Hi rivantsov,

Thanks for the advice. I have gotten a basic system that does what I want, although given the rewrite feel like I am using Irony more as a lexer than an actual parser.