newbie question

Nov 20, 2009 at 6:32 AM

Hi

First sorry for the simple question. I am new to Irony and i want to build a parser for ASL(ACPI Source Language).

Here is a snippet of ASL name and pathname terms definition.

LeadNameChar := ‘A’-‘Z’ | ‘a’-‘z’ | ‘_’
DigitChar := ‘0’-‘9’
NameChar := DigitChar | LeadNameChar
RootChar := ‘\’
ParentPrefixChar := ‘^’
PathSeparatorChar := ‘.’
CommaChar := ‘,’
SemicolonDelimiter := Nothing | ‘;’

NameSeg := <LeadNameChar>
     | <LeadNameChar NameChar>
     | <LeadNameChar NameChar NameChar>
     | <LeadNameChar NameChar NameChar NameChar>

NameString := <RootChar NamePath> | <ParentPrefixChar PrefixPath NamePath> | NonEmptyNamePath
NamePath := Nothing | <NameSeg NamePathTail>
NamePathTail := Nothing | <PathSeparatorChar NameSeg NamePathTail>
NonEmptyNamePath := NameSeg | <NameSeg NamePathTail>
PrefixPath := Nothing | <ParentPrefixChar PrefixPath>

I defines the rootchar,commachar and etc as:
KeyTerm commaChar = ToTerm(",", "commaChar");
KeyTerm parentPrefixChar = ToTerm("^", "parentPrefixChar");
KeyTerm pathSeperateorChar = ToTerm(".", "pathSeperateorChar");
KeyTerm rootChar = ToTerm("\\","rootChar");

Am i right? And i don't know how to define LeadNameChar and DigitChar and so as NameSeg, Will anybody help me?

Coordinator
Nov 20, 2009 at 5:09 PM

Well, you should first be aware of two-step parsing process:

1. Scanning - recognizing chunks of chars like numbers, identifiers, keywords and combining them into tokens. This is also called lexical analysis, and rules for this operation are lexical rules.

2. Parsing itself - reading token stream from scanner and recognizing language constructs like expressions, statements, etc.  This is syntax analysis.