What to do when lookahead is needed?

Jan 8, 2010 at 4:07 AM

Sorry if this has been covered before, but I'm new to Irony. I am trying to write a grammar for a domain-specific language that has two forms for method calls. The first is "call M(x,y,z)" where M is the method name and x,y, and z are the arguments to the method. Methods may have an arbitrary number of return values (instead of just one), so for binding the return values there is the second form: "call a,b := M(x,y,z)" (if M has two return values, of course I am not trying to capture that in the grammar). For LL parsers with backtracking, I would write the rule as:

callStmt.Rule = "call" (identifierList + ":=" | Empty) + methodCall;

(Where the production for the nonterminal methodCall recognizes strings like "M(x,y,z)".)

But with the LALR parser Irony produces, since both nonterminals identifierList and methodCall can begin with an identifier, I get parse errors for "call M(x,y,z)" because it grabs "M" as an identifier and then wants to see either a "," (the separator for the nonterminal identifierList) or the ":=" token.

What is the way to do this in Irony?

Thanks!

Mike

Coordinator
Jan 8, 2010 at 5:42 AM

The first question to ask is "does Irony report any grammar conflicts?" - if yes, then we have to work on conflicts, without parsing texts

Otherwise, if no grammar conflicts, then something should be wrong with the grammar. Can you please post the entier grammar if possible, or reduced version with function calls only. something runnable, to load into grammar explorer and give it a try

Roman

Jan 8, 2010 at 10:14 PM