Place holder in expression

Apr 8, 2010 at 5:40 AM
Edited Apr 8, 2010 at 5:41 AM

I am new to Irony. But I have to give some quick result.

I have expression which can contaion:

1. Number: I am getting.

2. indetifier: I am getting.

3. Function: I am getting.

4. Place holder: If in expression X | Y | Z | A appear in any case. Then grammar should identify it as place holder not as identifier.

Ashish Kundan

Apr 8, 2010 at 4:38 PM

Don't quite understand what is place holder - just another terminal, some special thing?

You can declare it as non-terminal with a rule:

var placeHolder = new NonTerminal("PlaceHolder"); 

placeHolder.Rule = ToTerm("X") | "Y" | "Z" | "A";

Additionally you'll have to set priority of X,Y,Z,A to be higher than that of Identifier or function, like this:

ToTerm("X").Priority = 100;

ToTerm("Y").Priority = 100;

and so on...

Alternatively you can lower priority of Identifier and Function

Apr 9, 2010 at 3:42 AM

Thanks a lot for youe reply.

Your understanding is correct. Solution that you provided is working. I was missing priority in my code.

Placeholder is just like an indicator. X mean someting, Y means something and  so on.

I defined node for place holder like:

public class PlaceHolderNode : AstNode {
      public string Name;
      public AstNode Argument;
      public override void Init(Irony.Parsing.ParsingContext context, Irony.Parsing.ParseTreeNode treeNode)
          base.Init(context, treeNode);
          Name = treeNode.ChildNodes[0].FindTokenAndGetText();
          AsString = Name;

It is accepting all. But I want this node to consider only x,y,z,a in upper and lower case.

Is there any help document available for Irony apart from source code.

Ashish Kundan

Apr 9, 2010 at 6:16 PM

Just add lower-case strings to expression for placeHolder.Rule

Apr 10, 2010 at 2:44 AM

Thanks Roman.

I need to identify date in an expression. Can we use regular expression to define its rule?

Ashish kundan

Apr 11, 2010 at 3:18 PM