Another newbie question

Dec 12, 2012 at 1:04 PM
Edited Dec 12, 2012 at 2:39 PM

I'm new to the whole world of formal language definitions and grammars, and maybe I'm using the wrong tool for the job, but I'd like to use Irony because I've been playing with it and it's just cool...

I want to parse files that should have a certain structure. The file is separated into sections, with each section having a series of options. Options can have values which are double-quoted strings or plus-lists of integers/decimal numbers/"heads". A "head" has the form (positive int):(positive int) e.g. 1:6 or 19:3. Comments are started using a ; and last until the end of the line. The whole file might look something like this:

[section1]   ; section titles are surrounded by square brackets
option1    =    7
option2="some string value"

; blank lines are ignored

heads   =1:2,8:1,3:2
another_option = 1.0,2.04,0.01

Each option or section title must be on its own line. Sections cannot be nested.

My attempt at a grammar in Irony looked like this:

var stringValue = new IdentifierTerminal("String value");
var quotedString = new StringLiteral("Quoted string", "\"");
var _decimal = new NumberLiteral("Decimal");
var integer = new NumberLiteral("Integer", NumberOptions.IntOnly | NumberOptions.NoDotAfterInt);

var root = new NonTerminal("Root");
var section = new NonTerminal("Section");
var sectionTitle = new NonTerminal("Section title");
var options = new NonTerminal("Options");
var option = new NonTerminal("Option");
var optionName = new NonTerminal("Option name");
var optionValue = new NonTerminal("Option value");
var head = new NonTerminal("Head");
var multipleHeads = new NonTerminal("Multiple heads");
var multipleInts = new NonTerminal("Multiple ints");
var multipleDecimals = new NonTerminal("Multiple decimals");

var comma = ToTerm(",");
var col = ToTerm(":");
var eq = ToTerm("=");

var lb = ToTerm("[");
var rb = ToTerm("]");

RegisterBracePair("[", "]");