Custom Terminal

Jun 15, 2009 at 11:38 PM

Hello,

I’m new to Irony and I’m trying to use it to interpret a PLC program. For now, I’m only interested in the XML three of the PLC program. 

I’m using the Irony version from the Download page (November 5 2008) and I have some difficulties with the Custom Terminal. 

In the header of a PLC program, we can assign a title to the program using this syntax:

TITLE = MAIN CALL OF THE PROCESS

This is my implementation of a Custom Terminal to retrieve the title’s string (everyting on the line after the '='):

// Get the string up to the EOL

static Token TitleMatchHandler(Terminal terminal, CompilerContext context, ISourceStream source)

{

Token result = null;

int newPosition = source.Text.IndexOf("\r", source.Position);

if (newPosition >= source.Position)

{

source.Position = newPosition;

Token tkn = Token.Create(terminal, context, source.TokenStart, source.GetLexeme());

result = tkn;

}

return result;

}

Here, how I’m using the Custom Terminal:

CustomTerminal titleTerminal = new CustomTerminal("titleTerminal", TitleMatchHandler, null);

NonTerminal title = new NonTerminal("title");

title.Rule = Symbol("TITLE") + "=" + titleTerminal;

My problem, the Custom Terminal is never called and I have a parser error.

Is my function for the non terminal well implemented?

Thank You

François

Coordinator
Jun 16, 2009 at 12:52 AM

First of all I would change the terminal definition to include the "=" char, and to add this char as a third parameter (prefixes). Check if the handler is actually called in this case. Inside the handler, exclude the beginning char from result string. If the handler is still not called then try to set the Priority property on terminal to something like 10.